School News

Two Students Receive National Merit Recognition

St. Andrew’s-Sewanee Head of School Karl Sjolund announced that boarding seniors Kenneth Simmons of Lookout Mountain, Ga., and Charlotte “Charlie” Barron of Chattanooga, Tenn., have been named Commended Students in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Roughly 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 students who entered the 2022 National Merit competition by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Kenneth is a High Honors student, a member of the Cum Laude Society, and was the 2021 recipient of the Frank Phillips White 11th Grade English Award. He has also received recognition for outstanding performance on the National Latin Exam. His YouTube channel, Interstate KS, has over 750 subscribers, and its illuminating videos on the nation's highways that has had more than 700,000 views. Kenneth is the son of Michele and John Simmons.

Charlie is a High Honors student, a Proctor, and a member of the school’s Honor Council. She was formerly a member of the Conduct Council. She is a member of the cross country, wrestling, and track and field teams. In 2021, her 4x800 relay team finished in 2nd place in the region and qualified for the state meet. She is the past recipient of awards in English and art and earned distinction on the National Latin Exam. Charlie is the daughter of Celeste Herbert and David Barron.