SSL Certificate

House Program

Cup Luncheon 2012.jpg

The school's entire community, including students, staff, and faculty, is divided into three houses for fun and entertaining house activities and competitions. The houses, Christabel, Gorgas, and Turkington, are named for three historic personages from the school's 150-year history. Houses enjoy planned activities throughout the year and earn points with activities designed to build cross-generational relationships and encourage campus fun.

Competitions include field games, contests, performances, brain challenges, and more. Houses also gain points for displays of school spirit, campus involvement, community service, and academic achievement, such as the number of house members on the Honor Roll. The house cup is awarded at a banquet at the end of the school year, giving that house bragging rights for the next school year.
New members of the SAS community are assigned to a house when they enter SAS and all house members remain in that house for their entire tenure at SAS.

House Program Leadership 2018-19

The House Program Leadership offers service and leadership opportunities for students.



President: Bruce Ruzima (Kigali, Rwanda)
Vice President: Abi Cassell (Sewanee, TN)

Upper School Representatives: Madelyn Grant (Tulsa, OK), Cameron Weaver (Winchester, TN)
House Program Leader: Osei Hill

Sister Christabel was called to St. Mary's School, an Episcopal girls' school that existed in Sewanee from 1896-1968, just after the school became accredited in 1930. Sr. Christabel was on the faculty from 1934-1967, eventually serving as the Sister Superior. As Sister Superior, she had complete responsibility for the operation of the school, including faculty hiring and fundraising. In the last two years of her tenure she sought donations for a new chapel. She is fondly remembered for her sense of humor, sensitivity, meditations, and longtime support of the students, and for her large boxer, Diglet, who accompanied her at all times except in chapel.


President: Jeson Rwalinda (Kigali, Rwanda)
VP: Harrison Hartman (Sewanee, TN)
Upper School Representatives: Porter Neubauer (Belvidere, TN), Randy Paul (Nassau, Bahamas)
House Program Leader: David Prehn

The Rev. William R. D. Turkington came to St. Andrew's School as a member of the Order of the Holy Cross, the religious order that founded St. Andrew's School in 1905. Born in 1904, and fondly known as "Turk", he came to the Order in 1937. He graduated from the University of Virginia and General Theological Seminary. As headmaster of St. Andrew's from 1942-1953, Fr. Turkington taught physics, general science, and biology, and was faculty advisor of the Science Club. He continued to serve as an Order of the Holy Cross monk in Toronto until his death in January 1995.



President: Jalen Tillman (Baltimore, MD)
VP: Sarah Beth Hobby (S. Pittsburg, TN)
Upper School Representatives: Larson Heitzenrater (Sewanee, TN), Aidan Smith (Sewanee, TN)
House Program Leader: Marin Miller

General Josiah Gorgas was a graduate of West Point, served in the Mexican-American War, and was chief ordnance officer for the Confederate Army during the Civil War. In 1870, he taught at University of the South and the Sewanee Grammar School until 1878. The eponymous Gorgas Guard was the elite group of cadets at Sewanee Military Academy. Gen. Gorgas became president of the University of Alabama in 1878. He was the father of William Crawford Gorgas who, as Surgeon General of the U.S. Army, implemented malaria prevention measures that allowed for the completion of the Panama Canal.

Student Activities Calendar

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite