Kids in History Classroom

St. Andrew's-Sewanee students develop leadership skills through clubs, class activities, sports, and participation in student/faculty committees. Being selected to serve as a Proctor, an SAS Ambassador, or a member of the Honor Council is regarded as one of the highest forms of recognition a student may earn.


To be a Proctor is the most coveted of all SAS leadership positions. Elected in the spring of their junior year by fellow students and faculty, the Proctors serve through their senior year, offering support in our residential houses and during evenings and weekends. Proctors receive leadership training and engage in activities designed to strengthen the group's connections to one another. Proctors plan and execute Weekend Activities, monitor the student union on the weekends, assist the Teacher-in-Charge with student checkouts, supervise students studying in Simmonds Hall on weeknights, and run the new student retreat. If it sounds like a lot of work and responsibility, it is.

2019-2020 Proctors 

Aidan, Smith (Sewanee, TN), Evan Fox (Sewanee, TN), Faith, Daisy (Roseau, Dominica), Harrison Hartman (Sewanee, TN), Nneka Okolo (Medina, TN), Cate Bachman (Sewanee, TN), Gabriel Pongdee (Tracy City, TN), Saje Mangru (Winchester, TN), Lucy Carroll (Sewanee, TN), Morgan Phares (Pensacola, FL), Jiaying Yang (Dalian, China), Sarah Beth Hobby (South Pittsburg, TN), and Jayla McLaurin (Las Vega, NV).

The Honor Council

Honor Council is a select student-faculty committee that reviews disciplinary infractions. Membership is determined by faculty nomination and an interview with the Academic Dean.

2019-2020 Honor Council

Harrison Hartman (President), Lucy Carroll,  Saje Mangru, Aidan Smith, Jiaying Yang, Sarah Grace Burns, Hannah Warmbrod, Justine Rogers, and Charlie Barron.

SAS Ambassadors

Chances are that the first person you'll meet at SAS will be one of our Ambassadors. The Ambassadors are a group of more than 30 students in grades 9-12 chosen to give tours to prospective students and their families and to serve at school functions. Ambassadors are chosen by application and teacher recommendation. This is a great leadership opportunity for students who are outgoing, friendly, and love to be the first person to welcome the "new kid on the block."

International Student Mentors

The International Student Mentors Program (ISMP) provides ongoing assistance to incoming international students. Peer mentors assist new international students in the transition from their respective countries to SAS by connecting with students before they arrive, leading small groups at International Student Orientation, and serving as a cultural bridge and a resource to new students during their first semester.

2019-2020 International Student Mentors

Nneka Okolo '20 (USA), Chloe Fontenelle '20 (USA), Kendale James '20 (USA), George Meng (China), Payton Zeitler (USA), Huy Cao (Vietnam), Nancy Ruzima (Rwanda), Cecilia Schutz (USA), Erin Mattingly (USA), Joshua Jones (Jamaica), Katie Finn Hurst (USA)

House Program Leadership

The House Program brings the entire school community together fun and entertaining house activities and competitions throughout the year. House Program officers provide leadership and organization for each house (Gorgas, Christabel, and Turkington). 

2019-2020 House Leadership

Christabel: President Abi Cassell, Vice President Madelyn Grant, Service Coordinator Laya Lewis, Upper School Rep. Ava Carlos, Middle School Rep. Nailah Hamilton

Gorgas: President Sarah Beth Hobby, Vice President Xavier Thompson, Service Coordinator Erin Mattingly, Upper School Rep. Madeline Sumpter, Middle School Rep. Cameron Crawford

Turkington: President George Meng, Vice President Zoe Wallace, Service Coordinator Phoenix Yuan, Upper School Rep. Charlie Barron, Middle School Rep. Patrick Monahan

Class Officers

The junior and senior classes elect officers to lead or organize class activities such as the annual Valentine's carnation sale, donut sales, the Commencement Dance, and the senior gift.

Team Captains and Club Presidents

Each of the school's middle school and varsity teams elect team captains at the beginning of the season. The captains help to lead drills, encourage attendance at athletic contests, and report scores and achievements in Chapel gatherings. Many of the school's clubs also have elected officers or designated leaders.

Honors Day

Several Award Cups

In addition to recognizing the contributions of our Proctors and Honor Council members, Honors Day provides an annual opportunity to recognize students for their leadership in the community, the classroom and on the playing fields. Annual awards include:

The Betty Guyear Condra Perseverance Award recognizes the individual whose perseverance in academics and extra-curricular activities is outstanding.

The Lulu Hampton Owen Service Award is presented to the student who has shown outstanding service to the school and to the community-at-large.

The Day Student Award is given to the individual whose character and involvement in the life of the school have contributed significantly to our community.

The Boarding Student Award is given to the individual whose character and involvement in the life of the school have contributed significantly to our community.

The Head of School's Award is given to the student whose achievements in academics, in extra-curricular activities, and in service to St. Andrew's-Sewanee are outstanding.

The SMA Class of 1946 Junior Leadership Award is presented to the individual whose ability to lead and to inspire others has contributed significantly to the life of the school.

The SMA Memorial Merit Award is presented to the student who has displayed athletic proficiency, academic excellent, and, above all, outstanding character in all actions both within and outside of the school community.

The Cum Laude Society is a national academic honor society. Membership also requires demonstration of good character, honor and integrity. The top 10% of the junior class and the top 20% of the senior class are eligible for induction.

House Program

The school's entire community, including students, staff, and faculty, is divided into three houses for fun and entertaining house activities and competitions. The houses, Christabel, Gorgas, and Turkington, are named for three historic personages from the school's 150-year history. Houses enjoy planned activities throughout the year and earn points with activities designed to build cross-generational relationships and encourage campus fun. 

Competitions include field games, contests, performances, brain challenges, and more. Houses also gain points for displays of school spirit, campus involvement, community service, and academic achievement, such as the number of house members on the Honor Roll. The house cup is awarded at a banquet at the end of the school year, giving that house bragging rights for the next school year.

New members of the SAS community are assigned to a house when they enter SAS and all house members remain in that house for their entire tenure at SAS.