Quad Summer panorama
2023-2024 St. Andrew's-Sewanee Board of Trustees

St. Andrew's-Sewanee School is an independent, non-profit, educational institution. The School is governed by the Board of Trustees which has responsibility for policy-making and sound management as put forth in the School's by-laws. Trustees serve a three-year term. The Head of School, a member of the Parents' Association, the Bishop of the Diocese of Tennessee, a member of the Alumni Council, a member elected by the faculty, and the Past President of the Board serve as ex-officio Trustees. The Head of School serves as the chief executive officer of the School.

St Andrew’s-Sewanee is a place of connection, a place that continues to grow and thrive to better express its mission. It is a place to learn goodness as well as gain in knowledge, a safe place to express who you are, to teach, and learn, and create, and start a narrative that will last a lifetime. And finally, it is a place that encourages finding joy. Who wouldn’t want to be part of a community like that?

Margaret Cartinhour Woods, PAST President, Board of Trustees

The Alumni Association comprises all former students of St. Andrew's-Sewanee School, St. Andrew's School, Sewanee Military Academy, Sewanee Academy, and St. Mary's School. The Alumni Council, which consists of the officers of the Association and at least four other alumni, totals a minimum of seven members. The Council elects three officers who serve two-year terms in each position. A member of the Alumni Council sits on the St. Andrew's-Sewanee Board of Trustees.

The Parents' Association consists of all parents or guardians of St. Andrew's-Sewanee students. A member of the Parents' Association sits on the St. Andrew's-Sewanee Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees 2023-2024

Philip K. Woodlief
Financial Consultant
Nashville, TN
Jay Fisher
Vice President
Special Assistant to the Vice-Chancellor, The University of the South
Sewanee, TN
Dot Neale
Corporate Citizenship and Corporate Affairs Manager (Retired)
Memphis, TN
Andrew Ruffner '86
Director of Finance
The Grove/Boot Ranch
Signal Mountain, TN
COL Robert T. Utlaut '85, USA, Retired
Immediate Past President
Chattanooga, TN

Dan Backlund
Professor of Theatre Arts & Director of the Sewanee Summer Seminar(Retired), The University of the South
Sewanee, TN

The Rt. Rev. John C. Bauerschmidt
Bishop of Tennessee
Nashville, TN

Kelley Black
Academic Dean and Associate Head of School
Sewanee, TN

Nancy Mishoe Brennecke
Professor of Art History, The University of the South
Sewanee, TN

Eunice Colmore
Duck River, TN

Andrew Dinsmore '02
Manager, Publix, Inc.
Sewanee, TN

M. Jane Eaves
Gonser Gerber LLC
Sewanee, TN
Andrew S. Hard '06
Software Engineer, Google LLC
Seattle, WA

Henry Lodge
Chairman, Lodge Manufacturing Company
South Pittsburg, TN

Newton F. Molloy III SMA '63
State of Tennessee Treasurer's Office (Retired)
Murfreesboro, TN

Dr. Jay Motley '98
Mindwell Health
Greenville, SC

H. Katharine Sheeler StA '81
Latin Teacher, National Cathedral School
Washington, D.C.

Terence Shepherd StA '79
News Director, KPBS (San Diego)
Coral Springs, FL

Karl J. Sjolund
Head of School
Sewanee, TN
Sarah Metzger Steffner
Freelance Writer & Editor
Chattanooga, TN
Molly Schaefer Still '07
Owner, Schaefer Nursery
Winchester, TN

The Rev. William S. Wade
Former Head of School
East Kingston, NH

R. Kent Westberry StA '73
Partner, Landrum & Shouse PLC
Louisville, KY

St. Andrew's-Sewanee School does not discriminate on the basis of gender, religion, race, color, or national and ethnic origin in the administration of its educational policies, admission policies, scholarship programs, athletic or other school-administered programs.